We earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
The otoging AS11-SLB13 is a plug-and-go open top self cleaning litter box aimed at cat owners who want automated waste removal without downloading an app or configuring Wi-Fi. The main trade-off is straightforward: you get simplicity and a low entry barrier, but you give up remote monitoring, usage data, and any smart-home integration.
Quick Verdict

- Best for: Single-cat households that want basic automation without tech complexity
- Skip it if: You need app control, health tracking, or a setup that handles multiple cats long-term without frequent emptying
- Standout: Genuinely no-app, no-Wi-Fi operation—plug in and press one button
Check the current price on Amazon
Key Specs
| Spec | Detail |
|---|---|
| Brand / Model | otoging AS11-SLB13 |
| Dimensions (L × W × H) | 21.25 × 20.21 × 24.1 in |
| Weight | 21.3 lb |
| Material | Polypropylene (PP) |
| Litter capacity | 6 kg (manufacturer claim) |
| Waste container | 10 L (manufacturer claim) |
| Noise level | ~32 dB (manufacturer claim) |
| Connectivity | None—no app, no Wi-Fi |
| Power | AC plug-in |
| Color | White |
| Warranty | 1-year manufacturer warranty |
Design and What It Means for You
Open-Top Bowl
According to the listing, the open-top design of this open top self cleaning litter box gives cats more room and visibility than enclosed globe or tunnel-entry models. There is no hood, door flap, or entry tunnel for a cat to navigate. This matters for cats that refuse enclosed boxes—a real behavioral phenomenon. The ASPCA notes that litter-box aversion can stem from discomfort with the box type itself, so a design that removes physical barriers to entry is a practical advantage for hesitant cats.
Bear in mind that with any open top self cleaning litter box, litter scatter is more likely than with a hooded unit, and there is no odor containment from a cover. If your cat starts avoiding the box after a switch like this, our guide on why a cat stops using the litter box covers the common causes.
No-App, No-Wi-Fi Operation
The setup sequence the manufacturer describes for this open top self cleaning litter box is: attach the legs, connect power, add litter, press the power button. There is no account creation, no smartphone pairing, and no router configuration to wrestle with. For owners who already manage multiple smart-home devices, this can be a deliberate reduction in friction rather than a missing feature.
The flip side is equally clear: without connectivity, there is no way to trigger a cleaning cycle remotely, check whether the waste drawer is full, or receive an alert if the motor stops mid-cycle.
Noise Rating
The manufacturer rates this open top self cleaning litter box at around 32 dB during operation. For context, 30 dB is roughly the level of a quiet library whisper, and 40 dB resembles a quiet residential street at night. If that advertised figure holds in real use, the unit should be unobtrusive during nighttime cycles. Actual noise depends on litter type, how full the waste container is, and where the unit is placed, so treat 32 dB as a manufacturer target rather than a guaranteed measurement.
Capacity Math
The listing states a 6 kg litter capacity and a 10 L waste drawer. A useful rough estimate: a single adult cat produces approximately 2 to 4 clumps per day, each weighing around 30–60 g. At 4 clumps per day on the higher end, the 10 L drawer could need emptying roughly every five to seven days in a single-cat home. Add a second cat and that interval roughly halves. These are inputs you can adjust based on your cat’s habits; the point is that the 10 L container is not unlimited.
Build and Materials
This open top self cleaning litter box is made from polypropylene (PP) and arrives at 21.3 lb. PP is a common choice for litter boxes because it resists moisture and is easier to wipe clean than porous materials. The overall footprint—21.25 × 20.21 inches at the base—is similar to a large traditional litter pan, so placement planning is worth doing before the box arrives.
Running Costs and Upkeep
For this open top self cleaning litter box, there is no subscription, no app, and no filter cartridge mentioned in the listing. Expected ongoing costs and tasks include:
- Clumping litter: The raking mechanism in open-top automatic boxes works best with clumping litter; non-clumping varieties tend to clog or leave waste behind.
- Waste liner bags: Reusable or disposable bags for the 10 L drawer keep emptying clean; the listing does not specify a proprietary liner size.
- Periodic deep cleaning: The PP body and rake mechanism will need occasional washing to prevent odor buildup and residue from hardening.
- Power: The unit is AC plug-in only; there is no battery backup, so a power outage stops cleaning cycles.
No replacement filters, Wi-Fi subscriptions, or proprietary consumables are listed by the manufacturer for this open top self cleaning litter box.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Zero app or Wi-Fi dependency removes a common setup frustration entirely
- Three-step assembly (attach legs, connect power, add litter) reduces out-of-box friction
- Open-top design is accessible to cats that refuse enclosed or tunnel-entry boxes
- Manufacturer-rated ~32 dB noise level is low enough for bedroom or living-room placement
- 10 L waste container reduces how often the drawer needs emptying compared to smaller-capacity units
- One-year manufacturer warranty included
Cons
- No remote monitoring means you cannot check drawer status, cycle history, or confirm the unit is running while away
- No health or usage data—weight trends, visit frequency, and elimination patterns are invisible
- Open-top design offers no odor containment from above; litter scatter onto surrounding floors is likely
- A single 10 L waste container can fill quickly in multi-cat homes, requiring more frequent attention than the listing implies
- Fully dependent on AC power; no battery fallback during outages
- Motors and electronics add complexity and potential failure points absent from a basic manual box
How It Compares
| Product | Best for | Key difference |
|---|---|---|
| otoging AS11-SLB13 (this unit) | Simple, app-free automation for one cat | No connectivity; lowest setup barrier |
| Open-Top Automatic Litter Box with APP Control | Owners who want open-top design plus remote monitoring | Adds app control and alerts while keeping the open bowl format |
| Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | Multi-cat homes needing advanced odor control and health data | Globe design, app-based usage tracking, higher price point |
| Automatic Self Cleaning Litter Box with APP Control, 65L Globe | Owners who want maximum waste capacity and smart features | Large enclosed globe with dual safety sensors and app integration |
Choose the Open-Top Automatic Litter Box with APP Control if you like the open-bowl format but also want the ability to check drawer status or trigger a cycle from your phone.
Choose the Litter-Robot 4 if you have multiple cats and want comprehensive usage logs, odor sealing, and long-term reliability data from a well-established brand.
Choose the 65L Globe model if capacity and smart-safety sensors are the priority and you are comfortable with an enclosed design.
For other low-maintenance cat gadgets beyond litter boxes, see our gifts for cat owners guide.
Verdict
Buy it if you want a simple open top self cleaning litter box, own one cat, find app-based pet gadgets more annoying than useful, and simply want the box to rake itself clean after each visit. The otoging AS11-SLB13’s open-top bowl, minimal setup, and manufacturer-rated quiet operation make it a rational pick for that specific need. If you are already comfortable navigating other litter-box options on the site—such as the self-cleaning litter box coverage comparing the PuraMax 2—you will notice this unit sits at the simpler, connectivity-free end of the spectrum.
Skip it if you need app control, want to monitor your cat’s litter-box habits for health signals, or have more than one cat generating waste quickly. In those cases, consider the Open-Top model with APP Control for a connected open-bowl option, or the Litter-Robot 4 for a premium multi-cat solution. If a cat develops persistent avoidance of any litter box—automatic or manual—consult a veterinarian or certified cat behaviorist to rule out an underlying health or stress issue.
Check the current price on Amazon
How We Researched This
We did not test this product in person. We compared the manufacturer’s specs and manual, owner discussions outside Amazon, and similar products. Our method.
FAQ
Is the open top self cleaning litter box suitable for large cats?
According to the listing, the open-top bowl is described as spacious and designed to give cats “more room and visibility.” The unit’s base measures 21.25 × 20.21 inches. There is no stated maximum cat weight in the manufacturer specs; if your cat is on the larger side, measuring the interior bowl opening before purchasing is advisable.
Does it work without Wi-Fi or a smartphone?
Yes. The manufacturer explicitly states no app, no Wi-Fi, and no pairing process are required. Operation is controlled by a physical power button on the unit itself.
What type of litter works with this box?
The listing does not specify a required litter brand, but automatic raking mechanisms generally perform best with clumping clay or silica-gel litter. Non-clumping litter tends to leave waste residue that clogs the rake. Check the manufacturer’s documentation for any specific guidance before purchasing litter in bulk.
How loud is it during a cleaning cycle?
The manufacturer claims approximately 32 dB during operation. That figure is comparable to a very quiet room at night. Actual noise depends on litter type, surface vibration from the floor the unit rests on, and how full the waste drawer is at the time of the cycle.
How often does the waste drawer need to be emptied?
The listing states a 10 L waste container capacity. For a single cat producing roughly 2–4 clumps per day, the drawer may need emptying approximately once every five to seven days under normal conditions. A second cat or a high-volume producer will shorten that interval considerably.
What does the one-year warranty cover?
The listing states a “1 Year Manufacturer Warranty” from otoging. The listing does not detail specific exclusions or the claims process. Contact otoging directly for terms before purchase if warranty coverage is a deciding factor.
Sources
- ASPCA – Litter Box Problems (cat behavior and avoidance)
- CPSC Recalls page – no recall found for otoging AS11-SLB13
- Manufacturer product listing (otoging AS11-SLB13, Amazon ASIN B0H8D6HP7C)
The Smart Cat Owner’s Gadget Checklist
20 gadgets worth owning, 8 to skip, and how to choose the right one — sent straight to your inbox.
